Indian Team for T20 Series against New Zealand


Shreyas Iyer, the Mumbai opener, and Hyderabad pacer Mohammad Siraj received their maiden T20I call-ups for the three-match T20I series against New Zealand. Ashish Nehra has been named in the squad for only the first game following his recent announcement that he will retire from all forms of cricket after the T20I in Delhi.

Iyer till date has notched up 1289 runs at an average of 26.85 in domestic T20s. The opener cum No. 3 batsman has been in stellar form in the recent past. He composed a crucial knock of 90 at Visakhapatnam in the just-concluded One-Day series between India A and New Zealand A. He was also the second highest run-getter for Delhi Daredevils in the 2017 IPL, compiling 338 runs at an average of 33.8. During the course of the tournament, the Mumbai batsman also registered his highest individual score in the T20 format when he crunched a 57-ball 96 against Gujarat Lions.

Siraj, the Sunrisers Hyderabad quick, also shone brightly in the IPL by picking up 10 scalps at 21.2. The promising pacer, known for his control and yorkers, has bagged 26 scalps at a healthy average of 18.73 in the shortest format of the game.

Loading Facebook Comments ...
Loading Disqus Comments ...