Matt Renshaw revealed that he had to use the bathroom and that’s the reason he retired ill mid-way through his innings on the first day of the first Test against India in Pune.

Renshaw was batting on 36 when he asked the umpire for permission and rushed to the dressing room to take a bathroom break. He returned later in the day to complete his half century before being dismissed by R Ashwin for 68.

One ball – Two wickets? Renshaw leaves the field retired ill immediately after Warner’s dismissal #INDvAUS

Posted by Indian Cricket Team on Wednesday, February 22, 2017


Speaking to the press at the end of the day, Renshaw said: “It came pretty suddenly, probably about five or ten minutes before Davey [David Warner] got out, I asked Richard [Kettleborough] how long there was till Lunch, and he told me half an hour. I was struggling a bit then. It wasn’t an ideal situation to be in. It was tough. I wasn’t sure of the ruling, I didn’t know you could retire ill, so thought I’ll just get out there and make sure I batted till Lunch. It wasn’t an ideal situation so I just had to make do.”

Renshaw also revealed that captain Steve Smith wasn’t too impressed when he first heard of what was happening. He explained that Smith did not quite comprehend the issue at first, but has since understood the matter.

“He wasn’t too thrilled about it, but he understands that when you need to go to the toilet, you’ve got to go to the toilet. It wasn’t an ideal scenario, as I said, but it’s life, pretty much,” said Renshaw.

“He didn’t really understand what was going on at the start, I sort of just ran past him, he didn’t really comprehend what was going on. I told him I needed the toilet. Obviously, we’d just lost a wicket so there would be two new batsmen out there but as I said, it’s a hard scenario to be in and he understood. We’ve had a chat now and we’re all good.”

India batting coach, Sanjay Bangar responded in jest when asked about Renshaw and what he made of his retiring.

“When you [have to] answer nature’s call, no amount of willpower or mind power can control that. He had to go, probably he held back. He was having that conversation with Smith as well, whether he could do it or not. But beyond a point, it wasn’t controllable. Such incidents happen, it all adds to the colour of Test cricket,” Bangar said.